The Asia Foundation

The Asia Foundation

Improving Lives
Expanding Opportunities

Bookmark and Share

Trustees & Officers


David M. Lampton

Chairman of the Board and Executive Committee
Hyman Professor and Director of SAIS-China and China Studies, Johns Hopkins

Kenneth I. Juster

Vice Chair of the Board and Executive Committee
Managing Director, Warburg Pincus LLC
Former Under Secretary of Commerce
Counselor (Acting) of the State Department
Deputy and Senior Advisor to the Deputy Secretary of State

Sunder Ramaswamy

Vice Chair of the Board and Executive Committee
President & Chief Academic Officer, Distinguished College Professor of International
     Economics, Monterey Institute of International Studies

Missie Rennie

Vice Chair of the Board and Executive Committee

Teresita C. Schaffer

Secretary, Board of Trustees
Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution
Senior Advisor, McLarty Associates

Thomas P. Rohlen

Treasurer, Board of Trustees
Professor Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Stanford University Institute for International

David D. Arnold

President & Chief Executive Officer

Suzanne E. Siskel

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Gordon Hein

Vice President, Programs

Nancy Yuan

Vice President and Director, Washington, D.C.

Ken Krug

Chief Financial Officer

Sarah Wan-Yau

Special Assistant to the President and Assistant Secretary, Board of Trustees


(in alphabetical order)

Terrence B. Adamson

Chief Legal Officer and Board of Trustees Secretary, National Geographic Society

William L. Ball, III

Former U.S. Secretary of the Navy

Howard L. Berman

Senior Advisor, Covington & Burling LLP
Former U.S. Congressman

Ralph L. Boyce

President, Boeing Southeast Asia
Former U.S. Ambassador to Thailand
Former U.S. Ambassador to Indonesia

Gina Lin Chu

Board of Directors, DC Design International LLC

Elizabeth Economy

C.V. Starr Senior Fellow and Director for Asia Studies, Council on Foreign Relations

Karl Eikenberry

William J. Perry Fellow in International Security, Stanford University
Former U.S. Ambassador to Afghanistan

John H. Foster

Chairman and Managing Director, Healthpoint Capital

Jared Frost

Executive Advisor, RMI Group, Jakarta

Geoffrey Garrett

Dean, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Hong Seok-Hyun

Chairman and CEO, JoongAng Media Network
Former Korean Ambassador to the U.S.

Karl F. Inderfurth

Senior Advisor, Center for Strategic and International Studies
Former Assistant Secretary of State for South Asian Affairs
U.S. Rep. for Special Political Affairs to UN, rank of Ambassador

S. Timothy Kochis

CEO, Kochis Global

Ellen Laipson

President & CEO, The Henry L. Stimson Center

Chien Lee

Private Investor, Hong Kong

Chong-Moon Lee

Chairman and CEO, AmBex Venture Group, LLC

Clare Lockhart

Co-founder and Director, Institute for State Effectiveness

Lauren Kahea Moriarty

Former Dean of Academics, Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies
Former U.S. Ambassador to APEC

Adil Najam

Dean, Pardee School of Global Studies, Boston University
Former Vice Chancellor, Lahore University of Management Sciences

William H. Neukom

President & Chief Executive Officer, World Justice Project

Douglas H. Paal

Vice President for Studies, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Susan J. Pharr

Edwin O. Reischauer Professor of Japanese Politics, and Director, Program on
     U.S.-Japan Relations

Masako H. Shinn

Founder, Graphis Asia

Donald Steinberg

President and CEO, World Learning

Melanne Verveer

Executive Director, Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security
Former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues

Judith F. Wilbur

Civic Leader

Alice Young

Special Counsel and Chair, Asia Pacific Practice, Kaye Scholer LLP

Chairman Emeritus

Michael H. Armacost

Former Chairman of the Board and Executive Committee
Shorenstein Distinguished Fellow for Political Affairs, Asia/Pacific Research Center, Stanford University

Trustees Emeriti

William S. Anderson

Retired Chairman of the Board, NCR Corporation

Alexander D. Calhoun, Esq.

Former Attorney at Law, Squire Sanders

A.W. Clausen †

Retired Chairman and CEO, Bank of America Corporation
Former President, The World Bank

Scott Cook

Co-Founder and Chairman of the Executive Committee, Intuit Inc.

Theodore L. Eliot, Jr.

Former Vice Chair of the Board and Former Chairman of the Executive Committee
Former U.S. Ambassador to Afghanistan
Former Executive Secretary and Inspector General of the State Department
Dean Emeritus of the Fletcher School

Thomas S. Foley †

Former U.S. Ambassador and Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives

Harry Harding

Former Vice Chair of the Board and Executive Committee
University Professor and Professor of Public Policy, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, University of Virginia

Ernest M. Howell

Senior Vice President - Wealth Management, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney LLC

Lee Hong-koo

Chairman of the Board, The Seoul Forum for International Affairs
Former Prime Minister of S. Korea and Korean Ambassador, Seoul

J. Stapleton Roy

Director, Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, Woodrow Wilson
     International Center for Scholars
Former U.S. Ambassador and Assistant Secretary of State

Robert A. Scalapino †

Robson Research Professor of Government Emeritus
Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California, Berkeley

Paul S. Slawson

President's Leadership Council
Business Leader

Linda Tsao Yang

Chairman, Asian Corporate Governance Association
Former Ambassador and U.S. Executive Director, Asian Development Bank

† in memoriam

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • YouTube
  • Flickr
  • Instagram
  • RSS Feeds